Posted in Foodie Guides, Uncategorized

San Diego Foodie Guide

Well, I know it’s been a minute since I’ve written. I apologize for my inactivity. This month has been incredible, and extremely busy to say the least. So, I figured we’d jump back in with a lighthearted food filled post before I come at you with the heavy revelations the holidays have been hitting me with lately.

I spent the last week in San Diego with my husband, mother-in-law and sister-in-law. And, let me just tell you, if you want to experience a city the foodie way take these humans with you. We made it a goal to eat where the locals recommend. Good Lord, what an amazing idea that was! I will now share with you my top four food and coffee places from the trip.

Hash House A Go-Go

What a name, what a place! I’m starting with this one because we went here twice, and it is honestly the best breakfast I’ve had to this day.  To begin, they have pineapple mimosas. It’s like the Midwest and the South had a baby that grew up in California and that baby decided to make food. As if that wasn’t enough the coffee menu has a wide selection, and the plates of food are obnoxiously big. Now, the prices are a bit hefty, averaging between $15-$20 per plate, but the portion sizes are enough for 2-3 people to share. In my opinion 100% worth it. I will definitely go back every time I am in San Diego.

Hodad’s

This place is backed by Guy Fieri so if you don’t trust my opinion find the episode of Diners Drive-ins and Dives where he talks about Hodad’s in Ocean Beach. Not only were the burgers to DIE for, but the service was unmatched. It was Wes’ birthday so they paid for his Cider and his entire meal. UNMATCHED SERVICE. Please go here if you are in San Diego.

Better Buzz Coffee

Where do I begin?  The atmosphere in this coffee shop is so beautiful. It’s a buzz of movement, ideas, and work being passed through computers, and minds. The customer service is amazing. They are a close second to the customer service at Dutch Bros Coffee. And finally the coffee, it’s wonderful. There aren’t any other words to describe it. They’ve mastered all types of coffee shop drinks, anything from iced tea, to lattes (hot and cold), and matcha, as well as exotic type flavors for their drinks. They are exceptional at it all. And as if that weren’t enough, they are environmentally friendly! They encourage “or here” cups and they have compostable straws. I was thoroughly impressed.

Fireside by the Patio

Last but most definitely not least, Fireside by the Patio. This place was in Liberty Station and first of all it felt like I was sitting in my backyard having a nice meal with my family. The General Manager’s name was Aaron (forgive me if I spelled that wrong). What a beautiful human, we had such a nice encounter with him.  Even though he seemed a bit stressed he was friendly and went out of his way to get us seated and comfortable. Then as if his friendly service wasn’t enough, He then came over and let our waitress know that she could send over one of each of their desserts on the menu after our meal was finished. They sent over pumpkin cheesecake, espresso cake, and cinnamon banana bread with vanilla ice cream on top. To die for! Honestly some of the best desserts I’ve tasted (and worth the stomach ache that comes with consuming dairy!)

I’ve come to the conclusion that everyone in San Diego has the soul of an angel, I truly did not meet a mean soul. Not to mention, the food is heavenly. It was a wonderful experience with wonderful people. One last tip for you, if you find yourself craving ice cream in San Diego head over to the marina and say hello to my friend Francisco at The Galley at H&M Landing and tip him nicely!

Let me know if you check out any of these places and let me know your thoughts, I love feedback and the diversity of peoples opinions!

wHOLY yours… Kaysi

PHOTO CREDS: Kaysi Mayhall

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.